Timing is everything

Ok folks. I need some major input here. Put your opinion caps on and go!

We are two steps closer to finding a caterer – (Plug: just got an amazing menu back from Blue Pot Catering. He put together a list of  really tasty sounding appetizers from which we can select three for our budget which is teeny tiny in catering speak.) But that brings up a whole slew of questions for me about timing.

What time do we have the wedding/reception start at if….

We want to take pictures after the reception (no more than 1 hour) and I do not want Mr. Quirky to see me before I walk down the aisle. And it will be winter so it will get dark early.

?

We do not want more than an hour between ceremony and reception because our out of town guests will be driving around confused and probably lost with nothing to do.

?

We are only serving light appetizers but we want people to stay the whole night and dance with us. (Also, is this ok? With our budget we are really limited to how much we can feed people, but we are greedy and want them to party on down with us. I hate for people to be hungry and I am an over-feeder at most parties I throw.)

?

It is not a formal wedding.

?

Also, am I the only one who has ever heard that there is a “formal wedding time”? Also, what time is that? Because we don’t want it. A quick survey last night of Quirky Fiance, Roomie and DD Girl suggested I may be crazy.

Well, we knew that, but…

Thanks for your input in advance.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Timing is everything

  1. I don’t really get how it works to have an open or semi-open bar, dance and night reception with only light appetizers. People will be hungry and drunk, and they will remember that.

    Wow, that is pretty harsh sounding, but… I don’t get how it will work out.

    • Thanks, Erin. I see your point – which is why I’m putting some feelers out. Just so you know, we are going to try to have more filling food (mini sammies, meatballs etc…) I just talked to a gal in my office who suggested starting the ceremony at 6:30 so people could eat prior.

      Budget weddings are tough, yo.

  2. If you really want to do a quirky wedding, why not look into different options like soup w/ mini grilled cheese since it is in the winter, or even fun fast food that you guys love – like platters of burgers & fries. I like the idea of the contrast of a more formal event with super informal food.

    • Wow….I just had an epiphany…we are having it in a theater. Why not inspired movie food – hot dogs, popcorn, nachos. I haven’t talked about my invites yet, but I have been looking into ticket-style invites.

      JUST sent an e-mail to venue asking if they have a popcorn machine onsite. That will be the first step…

  3. I like your thinking. I’ve always said coordination is the most important part of the wedding…nothing worse than traveling for a wedding and sitting around with tons of time on (and no drinks in) your hands. Kudos for the forethought.

  4. Pingback: In the blink of an eye « Quirky Wedding

Leave a Reply

