Weddings, weddings everywhere

They are coming out of the sky, I tell you. Last night we threw a couples’ shower for Molly and her fiance. Kristin hosted it at her house and Molly’s twin sister and I played the roll as co-host. For me that basically meants, participating in a two-hour adventure to Costco and Hy-Vee, slicing my finger while I cut the cheese (tee hee), asking Kristin where she wanted things and then enjoying a great celebration.

Before the great Costco adventure, the fiance visited our first venue choice. Everything about it is perfect. I love the space, the character that the old theater gives and the price is fantastic. There is only one hitch: The bar would be open in that it provided beer and wine, but we could not do a premium liquor package, so those who wanted any liquor drinks would have to pay.

We could upgrade to a well package, but we don’t really think that’s a good use of funds. Most of our guests would drink liquor drinks but they would be more likely to ask for a “Jack and Coke” or other top shelf offering. Because the bar is set up, they can’t “hide” the booze, so people will see it’s there. What do you think about this? Have you been to a wedding where the bar was open but liquor was cash? Do you think it’s tacky? We would have four different wine options and five different domestic beer options and we were talking about adding 1 Boulevard beer into the mix for an additional (more reasonable than top shelf) fee.

Would it make a difference if I told you that there would be an icee machine? For seriousness!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Weddings, weddings everywhere

  1. Pingback: Best wedding gift ever « Quirky Wedding

  2. Justin

    A few thoughts.

    First, ANY amount or type of free alcohol is always appreciated…and anybody with the nerve to complain or pass judgement about a host who is gracious enough to provide said free beverages, well that person is an ass.

    Open beer and wine is a perfectly reasonable and lovely thing to do.

    Second, if you really wanted to upgrade to the well package, I think your “Jack and Coke” logic is flawed. First, most bars do a good job of telling you what’s covered, and what isn’t. Second, you know I am a liquor snob…but if I can choose between free rotgut, or $10 stoli, I pick free rotgut every time…and I am willing to bet most others are the same way.

  3. Thanks for the input, Justin. It’s good to know it wouldn’t be offensive. Yeah, I agree that free is better when it comes to liquor but I’m afraid some people might not want wells. Oh, the whole thing is just so complicated. I might just have to sit outside with a flask until I figure out what to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

